fieldhockey-d3 flag | November 6, 2022

NCAA Division III field hockey committee selects 2022 championship bracket

DIII field hockey: 2022 selection show

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division III Field Hockey Committee announced today the field of 26 teams that will compete in the 2022 NCAA Division III Field Hockey Championship.

Twenty teams will compete in ten first-round games on campus sites Wednesday, Nov. 9. The 10 first-round winners, along with the six teams that received a first-round bye, will compete at four campus sites during second/third-round play, Saturday and Sunday, Nov. 12 and 13.


The winners of the four sites will advance to the semifinals and final, Friday and Sunday, Nov. 18 and 20, at Richard Wackar Stadium at Rowan University in Glassboro, New Jersey. Semifinals will be played at 12 p.m. and 3 p.m. Eastern time, Friday, Nov. 18, with the championship game being played at 1 p.m. Eastern time, Sunday, Nov. 20. Championship information, including information about tickets, is available at

Seventeen conferences have been awarded automatic qualification for their champions into the 2022 championship. One team was selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. Finally, eight berths were reserved for Pool C, which consists of institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champions and the remaining teams from Pool B.

The 17 conferences and schools receiving automatic qualification are:

  • Atlantic East: Cabrini
  • Centennial Conference: Johns Hopkins
  • Colonial States Athletic Conference: Wilson
  • Commonwealth Coast Conference: University of New England
  • Empire 8: Hartwick
  • Great Northeast Athletic Conference: Johnson & Wales (Providence)
  • Landmark: Catholic
  • Liberty League: William Smith
  • Little East Conference: Castleton
  • Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth: Messiah
  • Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom: DeSales
  • New England Small College Athletic Conference: Middlebury
  • New England Women’s and Men’s Athletics Conference: Babson
  • New Jersey Athletic Conference: Rowan
  • North Coast Athletic Conference: Ohio Wesleyan
  • Old Dominion Athletic Conference: Washington & Lee
  • State University of New York Athletic Conference: SUNY Cortland

The Pool B team is:

  • Salisbury

The eight Pool C teams are:

  • Christopher Newport
  • MIT
  • Rochester (NY)
  • TCNJ
  • Trinity (CT)
  • Tufts
  • Williams
  • York (PA)

The dates, sites and pairings are listed on the complete championship bracket, which is attached. For more information about the championship, log on to In 2021, Middlebury won its sixth NCAA championship, fifth in the last six seasons, and fourth straight after a 4-1 win in the title game at Robin L. Sheppard Field at Trinity College.

How Erin Matson went from North Carolina field hockey’s biggest star to its new coach at only 22

In January 2023, UNC made a historic decision — hiring former player Erin Matson as the new field hockey head coach, not even two months after her graduation. We checked in with Matson and the UNC field hockey program.

5 reasons why Erin Matson is a perfect fit to be the UNC field hockey coach

Here is why Erin Matson, just a year removed from her playing career, is primed to take over at North Carolina for the legendary Karen Shelton.

Erin Matson named North Carolina's head field hockey coach

Erin Matson was named North Carolina's next head field hockey coach after Karen Shelton announced her retirement after 42 years at the helm.