lacrosse-men-d1 flag

Spencer Parlier | | May 30, 2022

Maryland beats Cornell to win the NCAA men's lacrosse national championship

Photo by Larry French/NCAA Photos via Getty Images Eric Malever celebrates a goal in Maryland's victory over Cornell. Eric Malever celebrates a goal in Maryland's victory over Cornell.

The 2022 Maryland Terrapins have solidified themselves as one of the best men's lacrosse teams in collegiate history.

They held off a late rally and defeated Cornell, 9-7, Monday in East Hartford, Conn., to become the first undefeated DI men's lacrosse champion since 2006. The Terps' win over Cornell puts them in elite company as one of only 13 teams in DI history to finish the season undefeated as the national champions. 

Maryland dominated for three periods, outscoring the Big Red 9-3 and stifling Cornell on the defensive end thanks to 13 saves from goalie Logan McNaney in the first three periods.

Cornell had other plans in the final frame though. The Ivy League program outscored the Terrapins 4-0 in the fourth to cut the lead to 9-7 thanks to goals from Michael Long, Hugh Kelleher, Spencer Wirtheim and CJ Kirst. Kirst led the Big Red with two goals. 

It wasn't enough to get over the hump for the Big Red though, as a fatigued Maryland team was able to run out the clock and seal the championship for the Terrapins. 

Maryland was led by Anthony DeMaio, who had four goals on Monday afternoon, but the real star of the show was goalie Logan McNaney who recorded 17 saves — 13 of which came in the first three periods. 

Click or tap here for the final stats. 

Click or tap here for the final bracket. 

Tewaaraton Award: History of the college lacrosse honor

Here is the background and list of winners of the Tewaaraton Award, given annually to the best individual player in NCAA men's and women's lacrosse.

2022 NCAA lacrosse bracket: Scores, schedule, for the DI men's championship

Here is the official printable bracket for the 2022 NCAA DI men's lacrosse tournament, which begins May 11 and will crown a champion in East Hartford, Conn. on May 30. 

College lacrosse teams with the most national championships

Here are the college lacrosse teams who have won the most NCAA DI men's lacrosse championships from 1971 to today.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners