ncaa-d1 flag

NCAA | May 9, 2022

2022 NCAA DI men's lacrosse championship selections

Virginia wins the 2021 DI men's lacrosse national championship

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Committee announced the field for its championship tournament today.

The following conferences and their representatives received automatic qualification:

  • America East Conference: Vermont
  • Atlantic Sun Conference: Robert Morris
  • Big East Conference: Georgetown
  • Big Ten Conference: Maryland
  • Colonial Athletic Association: Delaware
  • Ivy League: Penn
  • Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference: Manhattan
  • Northeast Conference: Saint Joseph's
  • Patriot League: Boston U.
  • Southern Conference: Richmond

The remainder of the field was selected at large: Brown, Cornell, Harvard, Ohio State, Princeton, Rutgers, Virginia, and Yale.

CONFERENCE CHAMPS: Watch Boston University's game winning goal to secure Patriot League crown

The opening round games will be held on May 11, followed by the eight first-round contests held the weekend of May 14-15 on the campuses of the participating institutions.

Maryland received the No. 1 overall seed and will host the winner of Manhattan vs. Vermont on May 15 at Noon Eastern. No. 2 seed Georgetown will face the winner of Delaware vs. Robert Morris on May 15 at 7:30 p.m. Eastern in Washington, DC. Penn, the No. 3 seed, will host Richmond May 14 at 2:30 p.m. Eastern. Yale is the No. 4 seed and will host Saint Joseph's May 14 at 5:00 p.m. Eastern.

The No. 5 seed Princeton Tigers will play Boston U. May 14 at Noon Eastern in Princeton, NJ. As the No. 6 seed, Rutgers will play Harvard May 15 at Yurcak Field at 2:30 p.m. Eastern in Piscataway, NJ. No. 7 Cornell will host Ohio State May 15 at 5:00 p.m. Eastern, while the No. 8 seed Brown will play Virginia May 14 at 7:30 p.m. Eastern in Providence, RI. at Stevenson-Pincince.

READ MORE: Tewaaraton award nominees announced 

All Division I first round games will be televised on ESPNU. The quarterfinal games will be televised on ESPNU May 21-22 at James M. Shuart Stadium in Hempstead, New York, and Ohio Stadium in Columbus, Ohio. The Division I semifinal and championship games, and the Division II and III championship games, will be held at Pratt and Whitney Stadium at Rentschler Field in East Hartford, Conn., May 28-30 and hosted by Fairfield University. The Division I semifinals will be televised live on ESPN2 starting at Noon Eastern time, May 28. The championship game will be televised live on ESPN starting at 1 p.m. Eastern time, May 30.

For additional information, including purchasing tickets for each round of the lacrosse championship, game times and location, please visit

The origins of Title IX: How the landmark legislation got its start 50 years ago

A look back at how Sen. Birch Bayh helped the landmark legislation get its start 50 years ago.

2022 NCAA Division I women's lacrosse championship teams announced

The 29 teams for the 2022 NCAA Division I championship were announced on Sunday. Tournament games begin on May 13.

NCAA President Mark Emmert steps down, effective June 2023

NCAA Board of Governors Chair John J. DeGioia announced by mutual agreement with the board that Mark Emmert will be stepping down as president of the NCAA.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners