soccer-women-d1 flag

Missouri Athletic Club | December 8, 2022

2022 women’s soccer MAC Hermann Trophy finalists announced

UCLA vs. UNC: 2022 Women's College Cup championship highlights

ST. LOUIS, Mo. (Dec. 8, 2022) — United Soccer Coaches and the Missouri Athletic Club (MAC) announced the women’s finalists for the 2022 MAC Hermann Trophy, based on voting by NCAA Division I women’s soccer coaches, on Thursday.

The three women’s finalists are Notre Dame sophomore midfielder Korbin Albert (Grayslake, Ill.), Duke sophomore forward Michelle Cooper (Clarkston, Mich.), and Florida State senior midfielder Jenna Nighswonger (Huntington Beach, Calif.).

UCLA CHAMPIONS: Relive the unforgettable 2022 Women's College Cup final

Albert is the ACC Midfielder of the Year and scored 16 goals for the Fighting Irish this season. Cooper is a previous Hermann Trophy semifinalist (2021-22), the ACC Offensive Player of the Year, and tallied 19 goals in 20 starts. Nighswonger tallied six goals this season and was named to All-ACC First Team, in addition to being named the ACC Tournament MVP.

The MAC Hermann Trophy, the most coveted individual honor in NCAA Division I soccer, has been awarded annually since 1967. The 2022 MAC Hermann Trophy banquet will be held at the historic Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Jan. 6, 2023, to formally announce this year’s winners.

The 2022 Women's MAC Hermann Trophy finalistsThe 2022 Women's MAC Hermann Trophy finalists

Creighton's Duncan McGuire and Duke's Michelle Cooper named 2022 Mac Hermann winners

The 2022 Mac Hermann Trophy winners are Creighton's Duncan McGuire and Duke's Michelle Cooper.

How college soccer overtime works

There are a few differences between OT rules in college soccer and extra time rules in the pro game — here's how it works.

UCLA wins the 2022 national championship in an all-time classic, 3-2 in 2OT

Down 2-0 with 15 minutes remaining in regulation, an equalizer with 16 seconds left and a championship-winning goal in double overtime clinched the Bruins' first national title since 2013.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners