tennis-men-d3 flag

Spencer Parlier | | May 25, 2022

UChicago defeats Case Western Reserve to win the 2022 DIII men's tennis national title

2022 DIII men's tennis: championship recap

UChicago took down Case Western Wednesday in dominant fashion to secure the DIII men's tennis national championship. The Maroons got off to a quick start by securing two out of the three doubles points before singles got underway. UChicago then lost only one singles match as it cruised to the title, winning the total match 5-2.

No. 1 singles player for the Maroons, Christian Alshon, clinched the title with a booming service ace and a 6-3 third-set victory over Case Western's No. 1 player, James Hopper. 

Below you can find the final scores of each doubles & singles match: 

Doubles results

  • Doubles #1: Chicago's Jonathan Powell/James Hooper def. CWRU's Christian Alshon/Derek Hsieh, 8-4
  • Doubles #2: CWRU's Vishwa Aduru/Sahil Dayal def. Chicago's Arjun Asokumar/Andrei Leonov, 8-3 
  • Doubles #3: Chicago's Sachin Das/Alex Guzhva def. CWRU's Chaitanya Aduru/Michael Sutanto, 8-2

Singles matchups/results

  • Singles #1: Chicago's Christian Alshon def. CWRU's James Hopper, 3-6, 6-2, 6-3
  • Singles #2: CWRU's Vishwa Aduru def. Chicagos's Arjun Asokumar, 6-4, 6-1
  • Singles #3: Chicago's Derek Hsieh vs. CWRU's Ansh Shah — DNF
  • Singles #4: Chicago's Alex Guzhva def. CWRU's Michael Sutanto, 6-4, 6-1
  • Singles #5: Chicago's Shramay Dhawan def. CWRU's Chaitanya, 6-4, 6-1
  • Singles #6: Chicago's Andrei Leonov vs. CWRU's Jonathan Powell — DNF

Click or tap here to see the final stats. 

Alabama State wins 2022 HBCU national tennis championship

Alabama State men's tennis program won the 2022 HBCU national championship. Xavier University of Louisiana won the women's title.

What to know about 2022's HBCU national tennis championships

The 21st annual HBCU National Tennis Championships are from Sept. 15-18, 2022, at the South Fulton Tennis Center in the far stretches of Atlanta, Georgia. Here's what you need to know.

Virginia defeats Kentucky to win the NCAA DI men's tennis championship for a 5th time

Virginia is DI men's tennis national champion in the team bracket for the fifth time in program history. The Cavaliers swept Kentucky, 4-0, Sunday afternoon in Champaign, Illinois.