waterpolo-women-nc flag

NCAA.com | April 26, 2022

2022 National Collegiate women’s water polo championship selections announced

NC women's water polo: 2022 selection show

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Women’s Water Polo Committee announced today the nine teams vying for the 2022 National Collegiate Women’s Water Polo Championship. Seven teams have been placed in the bracket; the remaining two teams will compete for the last berth in the bracket via an opening-round game.

The opening-round game will be contested May 4, hosted by the University of Michigan, which will also host the championship to be held May 6-8. The opening round game, semifinal and championship games will be played at the Canham Natatorium in Ann Arbor. The 2022 championship will be an eight-team, single-elimination tournament.

In the opening-round game, Wagner (34-3) will play Salem (18-15) at Michigan. The winner will advance to the championship bracket to play Stanford (22-2) in Game 1. Rounding out the bracket will be UCLA (22-5) taking on UC Irvine (22-6) in Game 2, Southern California (18-3) competing against Fresno St. (19-7) in Game 3 and California (16-5) facing Michigan (26-8) in Game 4. Please reference the bracket for all game times.

Conferences receiving automatic qualification included the Big West Conference, Collegiate Water Polo Association, Golden Coast Conference, Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference, Mountain Pacific Sports Federation and the Western Water Polo Association. The remaining three teams were selected at-large without geographical restrictions.

The first round and semifinal games will be streamed on ncaa.com. The national championship will take place at 4 p.m. Eastern time, Sunday, May 8 on ESPNU. 

For more information about the National Collegiate Women’s Water Polo Championship and the 2022 championship bracket, log on to ncaa.com.

A complete Penn State wrestling schedule preview, including key individual matches

A deep break down of the Penn State wrestling dual schedule for 2022-23, including the dual vs. Iowa on Jan. 27 and potential high-profile matches every step of the way.

The winningest coach in NCAA softball history, Carol Hutchins, retires after 38 seasons at Michigan

Carol Hutchins retires after a 38-year coaching career. She lead the University of Michigan to over 1,700 wins making her the winningest coach in NCAA softball.

The 25 biggest college football stadiums in the country

Here are the 25 biggest college football stadiums in the United States, beginning with the Big House in Ann Arbor with a capacity of 107,601.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from NCAA.com and our partners